Thank you for exploring America's Backyard and Beyond With USA Travel Magazine Explore America's Backyard and Beyond!
[Skip Navigation] | Search USATM |                   
    Share This:

    Juan Pablo Montoya Wins 99th Indianapolis 500

    After winning the Angie’s List Grand Prix of Indianapolis, Will Power set his sights on the prize at the Indianapolis 500. Yet, it was Juan Pablo Montoya who charged ahead from the back of the pack to battle for the lead and take the win. This is Juan's second 500 win at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway; the last was fifteen years ago. It's hard to believe he was a Rookie when he won for Ganassi in 2000. This year, he qualified 15th, and had a bit of trouble when Silvestro ran into the rear of his car. After tires changes he came out and charged ahead in No. 2 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet.

    "It was awesome," said Montoya, 39, of Colombia, after placing the winner's wreath around his neck and letting the milk dribble down his chin. "This is what racing in Indy car is all about, racing down to the wire. These guys, Team Penske, did an amazing job. I had the feeling that I had a really good car, but that fight at the end was really, really hard. All the way down to the wire. This is pretty awesome.”

    Of the top ten finisher's, eight cars were Chevrolet, which included the winner, Montoya, Will Power, Charlie Kimball, Scott Dixon, Helio Castroneves, JR Hildebrand, Josef Newgarden, and Simon Pagenaud. In the two Honda's with position's in the top ten spots were Graham Rahal, who came in fifth, and right behind him was Marco Andretti.

    The race was filled with heart-stopping moments, especially on the last few laps. The drivers were pushing their cars to gain position for the win when Coletti hit Saavedra, and Hawksworth crashed into the wall. Debrib was flying through the air, and we all anxiously watched as time seemed to slow to a stop. We can only imagine what it was like for the drivers. Thankfully, the Emergency Crews were quickly on site, and able to get Saavedra, who suffered a foot injury out of his car.

    Juan Pablo Montoya has earned another spot in the famed Indianapolis 500 as winner for 2015. This makes it the 16th win for Team Penske, and the crew and fans were cheering as he crossed the finish line. It was an amazing moment. Over the years we watched many drivers take to the track chasing victory, and those who win know it's one of the biggest achievements of their careers. And, we congratulate Juan Pablo Montoya on his win!

    We also send our wishes of a speedy recover to Hinchcliffe, and the members of No. 18 Tristan Vautier's Pit Crew, who were injured. We also thank the Indianapolis Motor Speedway for making recent changes after several crashes, and for the improvements at the track that made this intense race, and other races safer for the drivers and fans!

    We look forward to the running of the 100th Indianapolis 500 when this historic milestone in racing will be celebrated throughout the year.

    Getting To IMS

    Ticket information is available for all racing events at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in 2015 – Brickyard Vintage Racing Invitational, Lilly Diabetes 250, Crown Royal Presents the “Your Hero’s Name Here” 400 at the Brickyard and Red Bull Indianapolis GP by visiting  Tickets are available 24 hours per day, seven days per week.

    You can also call 800-822-INDY or 317-492-6700 between 8 a.m.-5 p.m. (ET) Monday through Friday. Or, visit the IMS Ticket Office at the IMS Administration Building at the corner of Georgetown Road and 16th Street between 8 a.m.-5 p.m. (ET) Monday through Friday.

    Photo Credits: IMS